The Silent Cry of a Veteran

Our military made them,
the machine trained them to shut down
ignore their inner voices
carry out orders – no questioned asked

The soldier now a walking billboard
Fight Fear, Fight Distress, and Fight Chaos
as actions of politics

Wake up to the smell of the exploding stench –
they are fighting their own fears every moment they are gone,
as soldiers hold
compassionate hands not to feel alone
as hearts pound, minds whirl
ears ring like a bell tolls

The ever constant companion of distress
holding on like an obsessed lover
sweating pain
while chaos takes over their minds and lives
but don’t let anyone know,
whispers the moon when night expose vulnerabilities
“man up and suck it up, take it as it comes
just do as I say” echos the voice of training inside.

Homecoming all extremities function well
celebrate the tatters returned, rejoice the broken promises of home
the mind resounds exploding fears of new realities
sleeping partners rest no more as screams break into the night
arms flail trying to rid the demons of humanities curses
as soldier’s children live in fear as restless jitters wringing hands play on.

Our heroes, protectors of humanity,
fractured witnesses told to carry on
like nothing happened
unless they admit weakness and fragility
reaching for a hand
that is not there to pull them from the murky quicksand of violent memories
that stiff drinks can not drown.
The new life of the young vet,
admit nothing,
pretend always
no glory cloaked in a uniform.

About r.m.jacobs

Still In Arms is a project of war poetry from a Mother's perspective. Angered by the treatment of Veterans, concerned about those overseas, I've been there, I know how you feel when you sit at home and wait. I hope I give you words to express how you are feeling. I am an artist with many colours, a writer and poet with many words.
This entry was posted in War Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Silent Cry of a Veteran

  1. Yvonne Mitchell says:

    this made me draw breath…and now my heart weeps for those represented in your words

    • r.m.jacobs says:

      My fight on this front has only just begun. I am so disheartened by the suffering of those who return and how they are treated.
      Stay tuned as more will come out on this. I can’t help feeling the pain for those who have returned broken. Tears are never far away for me.

      Am I perhaps also suffering from the let down of heightened fear and anticipation that falls down with a thud when all is calm again?

Leave a comment